The Joint Commission, the predominant accrediting agency for health care organizations in the United States, has released its 2018 National Patient Safety Goals.  TJC updates its lists of National Patient Safety Goals annually for the purpose of helping facilities focus on and solve significant problems in patient safety. All TJC-accredited facilities are required to implement the agency’s recommendations.

TJC has developed unique sets of goals for each of the following areas of care:

  • Ambulatory Health Care
  • Behavioral Health Care
  • Critical Access Hospital
  • Home Care
  • Hospital
  • Laboratory Services
  • Nursing Care Center
  • Office-Based Surgery

To download full chapters detailing each set of TJC’s 2018 National Patient Safety Goals as well as simplified descriptions of the standards, click here.